top of page

POWERWOLF reveal elaborate Music video for '1589' Telling the Story of the "Werewolf of Bedburg"

Photo credit: Matteo Vdiva Fabbiani

POWERWOLF present the long-awaited first single from their upcoming studio album, Wake Up The Wicked, out 26th July via Napalm Records.

'1589' tells the story of Peter Stump, who lived near Cologne, Germany in the 16th Century and is known today as the "Werewolf of Bedburg". After being defamed as a werewolf, the farmer confessed to several murders under torture, and was cruelly executed on 31st October 1589. This morbid story has fascinated people all over the world ever since and has been picked up by National Geographic, among others.

For the video for '1589', POWERWOLF travelled to England to stage Stump's fate in the dark woods in a cinematic way. With carefully selected locations, countless actors and crew members and impressive special effects, it marks the most elaborate music video production in the band's history to date - and thus offers a worthy first taste of what fans can expect with Wake Up The Wicked.

POWERWOLF are undoubtedly one of the most successful current heavy metal bands worldwide. Headline and premium slots at premier rock and metal festivals like Wacken, Hellfest and Graspop, as well as massive sold-out arena shows have further solidified the Wolfpack’s standing at the very top of the scene. POWERWOLF’s high quality releases are steadily praised by critics and fans alike, building upon the successful reach of their songs and impressive official music videos, which have been streamed tens of millions of times across platforms to date.

Pre-order Wake Up The Wicked here:

Wake Up The Wicked – the highly anticipated successor to the extremely successful previous studio album, Call Of The Wild (2021) – will be released just in time for the award-winning band’s first ever full North American tour, starting in August 2024, followed by their biggest European headline tour to date, the Wolfsnächte 2024. Wake Up The Wicked is once again produced by the outstanding Joost van den Broek at Sandlane Recording Facilities and marks a new benchmark and undisputed career highlight for the band. The new album is hard, surprising and full of variety. While staying true to their established, loved sound, POWERWOLF go one step further and showcase a different facet of their deft musical and technical skills. This is evident, for example, on the outstanding single '1589', which is based on a true story from the 16th Century. 

20 years after their formation in 2004, POWERWOLF are expanding their repertoire with the highest quality and adding many future live hits to their extraordinary discography. Wake Up The Wicked is yet another statement cementing the status of the band as a leading force in the world of heavy metal.

Wake Up The Wicked Tracklisting:

1.    Bless 'em With the Blade

2.    Sinners of the Seven Seas

3.    Kyrie Klitorem

4.    Heretic Hunters

5.    1589

6.    Viva Vulgata

7.    Wake Up the Wicked

8.    Joan of Arc

9.    Thunderpriest

10.   We Don't Wanna Be No Saints

11.   Vargamor


bottom of page