top of page

Swedish rock trio The Gems (ex Thundermother) stream energetic third single 'P.S.Y.C.H.O'

Credit: Gustaf Sandholm Andersson

Promising new rock band, The Gems, consisting of three ex-Thundermother members: incomparable vocalist Guernica Mancini, powerhouse drummer Emlee Johansson, and guitar and bass virtuoso Mona 'Demona' Lindgren, have released a new single, the energetic 'P.S.Y.C.H.O', cut from their upcoming debut album, Phoenix, out 26th January 2024 via Napalm Records.

Check out the crazy official music video for 'P.S.Y.C.H.O' video here:

Thundermother reached #6 with their last two albums on the Official German Album Charts, and The Gems’ first singles have already gained impressive attention, with 'Like A Phoenix' peaking at #2 on the German Rock Radio Airplay Charts.

The Gems’ extraordinary potential was proven right after the release of their very first standalone single, 'Like A Phoenix', in summer 2023. The single immediately landed at #2 on the German Rock Radio Airplay Charts and turned the heads of avid rock fans around the world. With their previous band, the members of The Gems took over stages at massive festivals such as Wacken Open Air and Sweden Rock Festival, and even toured with the mighty Scorpions, and the newly formed trio has already played their first shows, convincing audiences with their impressive live energy.

The Gems comment on 'P.S.Y.C.H.O': “P.S.Y.C.H.O is a fast and fun party track, with a chorus that will drive you crazy in the most magnificent way. We’re all bound to bump into some energy vamps so why not propose a toast in their honor? And who begins a song with insane drum fills soaked in flanger? WE DO! Maybe we are the psychos ourselves?! Watch the music video to get some clues…”The Gems - P.S.Y.C.H.OPhoenix will be available in the following formats:

• Die Hard Edition, 1 LP Gatefold Vinyl Orange, Red Marbled (incl Slipmat, 16p booklet, cotton bag (38x42cm) – Napalm Records Mailorder exclusive – strictly limited to 100 copies worldwide

• 1 LP Gatefold Vinyl Blue – Napalm Records Mailorder exclusive – strictly limited to 150 copies worldwide

• 1 LP Gatefold Vinyl Violet – The Gems Shop exclusive – strictly limited to 300 copies worldwide

• 1 LP Gatefold Vinyl Black

• 1 CD Digisleeve

• Digital Album

Captivating, chanting intro track 'Aurora' allows vocalist Guernica Mancini's distinctive, strong and bluesy vocals shine, and sets the scene before the catchy rock’n’roll anthem 'Queens' roars as a celebration of feminine power. Standing up for oneself, fighting back and rising above are some of the main lyrical themes of Phoenix, which 'Send Me To The Wolves' is an outstanding example of. The song’s storyline champions overcoming and not giving in to oppressors, before 'Domino' takes The Gems’ grooviness to the level of legendary classic rock bands of the 70s. With emotional tracks like 'Undiscovered Paths' and 'Fruits Of My Labor', The Gems bring significant depth and variety to the album, distancing themselves from their history. Stunning interlude 'Maria's Song', featuring violinist Maria Jern, fades into the touching ballad 'Ease Your Pain' - giving extra space to the exceptional guitar work of Mona 'Demona' Lindgren. Following track 'Running' shines as a surefire future hit with more impressive guitar work and Emlee Johansson’s hard hitting drums, before the beautifully stripped down acoustic version of 'Like A Phoenix' - backed with acoustic guitar by producer Johan Randén - wraps up The Gems’ debut album. Phoenix was mastered by Plec Johannsons (Soilwork, Hank von Hell, Firewind) and its artwork was created by ex-Thundermother member Giorgia Carteri (Soilwork, The Nightflight Orchestra).

It is clear that the seasoned musicians of The Gems won’t settle in the shadows of their prior successes. With their fresh, convincing debut offering, The Gems take a stand and leave the past behind. Make no mistake - with Phoenix, The Gems will conquer the international rock scene in a heartbeat.

The Gems online:

Phoenix track list:

1 Aurora - Interlude

2 Queens

4 Domino

5 Silver Tongue

6 Undiscovered Paths

7 Maria's Song - Interlude

8 Ease Your Pain

9 Running

10 Renaissance - Interlude

13 Kiss it Goodbye

14 Force Of Nature

15 Fruits Of My Labor

16 Like A Phoenix - Acoustic Version


bottom of page