top of page

Shrapnel announce new album and release single/video

photo credit:  Andy Ford

British heavyweights Shrapnel have unveiled details about their upcoming album, "In Gravity," set to be released via Candlelight Records on May 31st. To commemorate the announcement, the band has launched a new single and accompanying video titled 'Amber Screams.'

This impactful track addresses the distressing issue of being ensnared in a cycle of substance abuse.

Reflecting on the new single, the band remarked, "'Amber Screams' delves into the destructive cycle of substance abuse, exploring the pursuit of heightened experiences as an escape from the descending normalcy of addiction. It's our heaviest and most intense sound to date, a somber and introspective song influenced by bands like Alice In Chains, Deftones, and Gojira. We leaned into our post-metal side, crafting what might be our favorite track on the upcoming album. The goal was to convey a sense of despair and teetering on the edge of the abyss."

The forthcoming album, "In Gravity," signifies a rebirth for Shrapnel, representing the initiation of a new chapter. Drawing from their growing wealth of experience and diverse influences, the album showcases the band's peak songwriting capabilities. Whether navigating extremes and complexities, delivering Gojira-inspired intense heaviness, or revealing a newfound sense of modern melodic maturity, Shrapnel demonstrates their ability to venture into new, genre-defying territories.

Guitarist Chris Martin expressed, "We've poured every ounce of suffering, devastation, and emotion we've experienced in recent years into this album. We've never been more confident in our material."

Produced by Swedish super producer Jens Bogren (known for his work with Sepultura, Opeth, Amon Amarth, Ihsahn) and featuring collaborations with Scott Kennedy (Bleed From Within) and modern shred virtuoso Bradley Hall, "In Gravity" sees Shrapnel breaking free from limitations where others have faltered, firmly asserting their claim to the British metal throne.

Chris Martin further added, "As an album, 'In Gravity' delves into how we cope with problems of varying intensities. We explore how some solutions to our problems can become problems themselves, whether it's addiction or anything else. It's an album about confronting shared difficulties, written during times of tragedy and released during challenging moments for us. While we don't have all the answers, we acknowledge that creating art is a healing process. This album holds a mirror to our struggles and exorcises some demons, resulting in the best work we've ever produced—a piece we hope resonates with others on a profound level."

Established in 2009, Shrapnel has been on a relentless musical journey, having supported renowned acts like Exodus, Sepultura, Death Angel, Suicidal Tendencies, Wolf, and Gama Bomb, and gracing the stage at Bloodstock Festival three times. Later this year, the band is scheduled to perform at Barbeuk Metal Festival in France. From their explosive underground EP "No Saviours" to the critically acclaimed 2020 release "Palace For The Insane," Shrapnel has consistently progressed and shows no signs of slowing down. Stay tuned for more live dates as the band continues its dynamic trajectory.

In Gravity Tracklisting

3. Guardian

4. Breaker

5. Judgement

6. Dark Age

7. Follow The Cold

8. As Above…

9. …So Below

10. Absolution


bottom of page